THE WORLD CUP OF METAL 2015 (CRICKET EDITION) GAMES 31/32

Just got back from playing frisbee in the park with my dog. It was crap. I’m going to need a flatter dog. Though I did teach my dog to play the trumpet on the London Underground recently. We went from Barking to Tooting in about an hour.

We’re fair cracking through this tournament! 2 more games from Pool A, with the second one being the more intriguing of the two.

GAME 31: NEW ZEALAND vs AFGHANISTAN

A one-man-atmospheric-doom metal band from NZ who wears his Opeth, My Dying Bride, Anathema and Katatonia influences on his sleeve yet can still sound fresh and exciting. Are you feeling moist yet? Are you getting tingly down in your nether regions? I know I am!

https://hirsute.bandcamp.com/

http://www.metal-archives.com/bands/Hirsute/3540376168

As previously mentioned there’s not many rock/metal bands in Afghanistan so here’s “Ghar Aya Mera Pardesi” performed on Rubab by Humayun Sakhi,

PREDICTION: Do I really need to tell you?

 

GAME 32: AUSTRALIA vs SRI LANKA

Every day is Australia day
“Sons and Daughters” and “Home and Away”
And then the news comes on and the sound goes down
‘Cos she can’t be bothered with all them politicians
They’re all just a bunch of flaming drongos. – ‘A Country Practice’, Half Man Half Biscuit.

They come from a land down under, they’re named after a GS!YBE song and they play some wonderful, thrilling atmospheric post-black metal. They are Hope Drone and they’re another act who I’ve got to check out (That list of mine is getting longer and longer!) I think that the atmospheric black metal/post-metal/shoegaze/drone genre hits the mark for me, I just turn off my mind, relax and float downstream.

https://hopedrone.bandcamp.com/

http://www.metal-archives.com/bands/Hope_Drone/3540360846

 

From Sri Lanka comes a melodic black/thrash metal act called Unholy Sermon and what a great band they are! Excellent riffs, some great tempo changes during the songs and some killer bm vocals all add up to one unholy but amazing racket of glorious headbanging tunes!

http://www.metal-archives.com/bands/Unholy_Sermon/103656

 

PREDICTION: Two very strong sides who will most likely feature in the semi-finals, if not the final of this tournament. It’s difficult to choose between the two but I’ll give the slight edge to the home side, Australia. As for the music, again it’s a difficult choice. Unholy Sermon’s album was a lot more enjoyable than I thought it would be and it’s great for headbanging around the house to, but Hope Drone just beat them out because their songs and melodies send me to a happier place.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

